what will be your story?

At Uncle Cliff’s funeral, the pastor asked and told stories on Uncle Cliff.  We each had our own to tell about Uncle Cliff.

Made me wonder what is my story?  I hope you all have a good one to remember!!

I had 27 aunts and uncles, 5 grandparents, mom and dad and my life is a story of all these people.  Lots of cousins, 33 if I counted right, and thru them I met God.

Reminds me of what Irlo said about knowing God:

I know what God’s hand look like–like my dads when he helped me up, or when he read the Bible and followed the text with his finger, or as he welded or worked on equipment,

I recognize God’s laugh when I hear my children and grandchildren around the table playing games,

I know what God’s shoes look like, just like the ones who brought food when I got out of the hospital or pulled me out of the mud on a muddy road–you know who you are,

God wears a old farmers cap and has a laugh I long to hear every day,

God smells of sweat and oil and of work,

He hugs me when I just think I cannot take one more repeat of this or that, or listen to one more excuse,

I have sat on God’s lap, and been comforted and felt his love and protection all around me.

I even know what God says when I mess up!!

Each of you have shown me God in many, many ways and I have love for each of you, Lurene, Lenora, Fay, Nita, Jimmy, Homer, Dora, Bill, Joe, Virgil, Walter, Hulda, Opal, Cortez, Ethel, Stella and aunts and uncles married to these and cousins and my mom and dad and my kids and my grandchildren.

Thank you, God, for being here on earth in disguise.

One thought on “what will be your story?

Leave a comment